It's About Them

Young People … Our Greatest Resource

Having a Good Day … Even When it Isn’t

I’m proud to be a member of the National Speakers Association. I remember a story about the great Cavett Robert, the founder of NSA. He always preached doing your best, not matter what, and he practiced what he preached.

I remember someone sharing a story about their first-hand observation of Cavett Robert during a speaking event. He was sick, running fever. It was shared that, before he was introduced, Cavett was resting his face against a plaster wall, just to catch a little coolness. He then went on to deliver his program, just as he had promised.

I said to myself, “I sure hope I don’t ever have to do that.” Well, it happened on June 13, 2006. Ever have an experience like this?

I was scheduled to train teachers at an education service center in my home state of Texas. I got to my destination, checked into the motel and grabbed a bite of dinner. I even went to bed early so I would be extra sharp for the next day.

About an hour into my sleep, I awoke to VIOLENT bouts of vomiting and diarrhea that went on all night. Food poisoning. (If my wife had been with me, she’d taken me to the hospital, for sure.)

I tried to soothe myself by saying, “This is BAD, but I’ve experienced worse.” No way; this was a new watermark.

Fortunately, it all tapered off about 6:00a.m., so I decided to regroup and give it a shot. I was so weak and dehydrated, it took me forever to shave and dress. Fortunately, it took me about 40 minutes to drive to where the client was, which gave me a chance to chug a 32 ounce bottle of Gatorade. That allowed me to walk into the facility without looking like a drunk man. But I was so weak and sleep-deprived I could hardly stand.

I leveled with my client, Gwen, and we decided to give it a shot. They brought in a stool for me (a God-send). It was a rocky start, but you know the rest. As they got into my presentation, I was able to feed off their energy. They helped pull me through, and we all made a good day of it.

 Like a good pitcher in a slump, we don’t always have our best stuff. But if we keep pitching and stay in the game, things will change.

 James Sutton, Psychologist

June 28, 2006 - Posted by | Educators, Inspirational

1 Comment »

  1. i love that dresser!

    Like

    Comment by rachael | January 18, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

