It's About Them

Young People … Our Greatest Resource

The New Shoes

As I get more into this blog, I will be putting in a lot of material about working with difficult youngsters in the home and school environments. Be watching for it.

I will also be answering questions that are posted here in this blog or through email.

As I was searching through material, I came across this piece that was published in one of my newsletters. I thought you might enjoy it.

 JDS

The scene: New York City in late December

 A boy was standing in front of a shoe store, barefooted, peering into the window. He was shivering with cold as a lady approached him.

“Young man, what are you looking at so intently in that window.”

“I was asking God for a pair of shoes,” he replied.

She took him by the hand and entered the store. She asked the clerk for several pairs of socks for the boy, then she requested a basin of water and a towel.

The lady took the boy to the back of the store and, removing her gloves, knelt down and washed his feet, then dried them with a towel. She then put clean, new socks on his feet and purchased for him a new pair of shoes.

As a finishing gesture, she tied up the remaining pairs of socks and handed the bundle to the lad. She then gently touched him on the head.

“No doubt, my little friend, you’re more comfortable now.”

As she turned to leave, the youngster reached for her hand. With tears filling his eyes, he looked into her kind face and asked a question that grabbed at her heart/

“Are you God’s wife?”

James Sutton, Psychologist

July 1, 2006 - Posted by | Inspirational

1 Comment »

  1. It\’s Incredible about the power of Internet and blog. wordpress Blogs never ceases to amaze me. People write with such energy and passion. I really enjoyed visiting your site. Good blog and I intend to visit again!.

    Like

    Comment by Sureshg | January 7, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

