It's About Them

Young People … Our Greatest Resource

Part 2 of 3: The Pickle Jar

THE PICKLE JAR, Part 2

(Here’s a great little piece from that famous author, Anonymous. As a first-generation college student, I can also identify with having parents who sacrificed much to give their children as many opportunities in life as possible. It’s interesting to consider how my folks (perhaps yours, too) likely would not have considered it a sacrifice at all, but rather a wise and solid investment.—James Sutton)

……………………………………

We would always celebrate each deposit with an ice cream cone. I always got chocolate; Dad vanilla. When he received his change, Dad would show me the coins in his hand. “When we get home, we’ll start filling the jar again.”

He always let me drop the first coins into the empty jar. As they rattled around with a happy jingle, Dad grinned at me. “You’ll get there on pennies, nickels, dimes and quarters, but you’ll get there. I’ll see to that.”

The years passed. I finished college and took a job in another town. Once, while visiting my parents, I used the phone in their bedroom. I noticed that the pickle jar was gone. It had served its purpose and had been removed.

A lump rose in my throat as I stared at the spot beside the dresser where the jar had always stood. My father was a man of few words; he never lectured me on the values of determination, perseverance and faith. He taught these virtues with that pickle jar.

July 21, 2006 - Posted by | Inspirational, Parents, Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. […] Part 2 of 3: The Pickle Jar В« It's About Them Jul 21, 2006 … I noticed that the pickle jar was gone. … He taught these virtues with that pickle jar. … in e-book format, as is another book, 60 Ways to Reach a Difficult and Defiant Child. … […]

    Like

    Pingback by book with pickle jar | Book info | April 20, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

