It's About Them

Young People … Our Greatest Resource

Every Child is a Passionate Learner

Every Child is a Passisonate Learner

 I came across this quote by Robert Fried the other day. As an educator and a mental health professional, I do agree with him. We much teach our children in such a way that the natural desire to learn is supported and enhanced. When I see my grandson excited about going to school and all that it involves, I say a little prayer of thanks for the teachers in his young life.

James Sutton, Educator/Psychologist www.docspeak.com

………………………………………………………….

“Every child is a passionate learner. Children come into the world with a desire to learn that is natural as the desire to eat and move and be loved, their hunger for knowledge, for skills, for the feeling of mastery as strong as any other appetite. They learn an amazing variety of things in the years before they enter school, including, miraculously how to talk in their native language. …. Something happens to a child when learning is replaced by schooling.” Robert Fried

October 4, 2006 - Posted by | Counselors, Educators, Inspirational, Parents

2 Comments »

  1. “Every child is a passionate learner.” True quote. Until you give to much homework. But I work with Special Needs kids. I have one child who is in 5th grade and can do advance Algerbra in his head.(calculate) His parents don’t know what to do with him. So, they give him homework outside of school. He’s like a “CLIFF CLAVEN”(Cheers) Ask him a question Science Q? He’ll know the answer. BUT his Social skills need help. If people brush up against him – he’ll shrill and cry. I think he has the beginning signs of AS but he can follow direction. I found that he responds to my voice when he has a fit. Which is good. But I am the teacher in afterschool daycare. It does not work with his teachers in the classroom. They have created behavioral doc sheets. Which I disagree with but have kept mum about. His parents have already taken him to schrinks. Too no avail. In listening to the child – I have discovered that too much homework makes it stressfull to learn AND his parents work too much that the CHILD has to go up to his parents and ask them if they will play a game with him. SO, I tried to hint this without intrusion to the mother – suprise him – instead she asked him where he wanted to go. Sometimes doing something out of the ordinary helps. I also discovered when it comes time to hug the child the mother she does a side hug. I think there is something missing in this household but I definately believe there is too much homework, or information being pushed in the classrom. Because of this you get stressed out kids.

    Like

    Comment by Darcy Freeman | November 15, 2006 | Reply

  2. Hi, Do something to help the hungry people in Africa and India,
    I added this blog about that subject:
    in http://tinyurl.com/5t2jg6

    Like

    Comment by cheritycall | October 27, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

