It's About Them

Young People … Our Greatest Resource

On Doing the Right Thing

As a former teacher and a lifetime parent, I believe one of the most difficult things to teach young people is to do the right thing when there may be no payoff in sight. Sometimes the right thing is simply the right thing; period.

 Earlier this week I was asked to be a pallbearer at the funeral of a woman I knew by name only. All of her family were living in various parts of the country. Although I thought it a “different” sort of request, I agreed and did, indeed, carry her casket … the casket of a person I didn’t know. Interesting, huh?

Why would we do such a thing or, more specifically, why did I? I agreed to be a pallbearer for at least three reasons:

1. I have the deepest regard and respect for the person who called and asked me if I would be a pallbearer.

2. I was available to do it. Various circumstances prevented most of the other men from our small church to be a pallbearer. I was home still, getting ready for a trip to Kansas, but I was home and available. 

3. It was simply the right thing to do. That in and of itself was enough.

I cannot tell you that taking on this little job was a hassle for me, because it wasn’t. Nor could I tell you that doing it made me feel wonderfully warm and fuzzy inside. It didn’t. It was simply the right thing to do, and that was enough.

In the grand scheme of things life got back to “normal” after a 90 minute diversion of carrying the casket of a stranger. There were calls to make and errands to run. I seriously doubt if I will even recall this action a few years from now. But I’m very clear on the fact that, had I refused this request and others like it, I would have been a bit less as a person because of it.

Sometimes doing the right thing is simply the right thing to do.  

November 30, 2006 - Posted by | Inspirational, Parents, Special Occasions

3 Comments »

  1. Doc,
    You are correct. Doing the right thing in the end is always the best thing to do. If on a daily basis we made our decisions on doing the right thing, istead of the thing that is more fun or the thing that will make us more money or the thing that will allow us more time to watch TV, etc, this world would be such a better place and people would feel so much better about their lifes. I applaud you for doing the right thing!
    P.S. By doing the right thing, we will be rewarded by attracting the things into our life that we desire, such as more love, more money, more time, etc. Universal laws are a wonderful thing!

    Like

    Comment by tobeme | November 30, 2006 | Reply

  2. I think because we don’t teach them how important the right thing is. We expect them to just take our word for it. They don’t really understand just how big doing the wrong thing is or just hom much it DOES effect them. Even a lot of adults don’t seem to gras that! We don’t teach them a real true reason to do the right thing when the wrong thing seems so much more eaiser or right for the moment.

    Like

    Comment by Desiree | December 18, 2006 | Reply

  3. Ugh! how I wish there were an edit button to edit the typos! LOL

    Like

    Comment by Desiree | December 18, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

