It's About Them

Young People … Our Greatest Resource

Dreams are Built on Hard Work

“You are never given a dream without also being given the power to make it true. You may have to work for it, however.” Richard Bach

Dreams can be troublesome things, especially when the only thing we want to do is dream.

 Dreams are wonderful action plans that require just that … ACTION!

 I remember one young lady, about 15, telling me she was going to be a rock star when she grew up. I asked her how that was going to happen.

“Well, I’ll be at the house, and a limo will drive up. Someone with a big singing contract will knock on my door and sign me up as a rock star!

“So what is your plan? I asked.

 “I’ll just wait for the limo.”

I did suggest that, while she was waiting, she might want to think about what she could DO to be one day closer to being a rock star. She looked at me like I had just grown a third eye.

I just saw a great, great movie, although most of it is sad and difficult. It was The Pursuit of Happyness (a true story) with Will Smith. He plays Chris Gardner, a homeless man trying to raise a son and get a chance at becoming a stock broker under incredibly difficult circumstances. He certainly had a dream, but he had also had tremendous resolve.

He achieved his dream.

 James D. Sutton, Psychologist  www.docspeak.com

December 20, 2006 - Posted by | Educators, Inspirational, Parents, Self-esteem

1 Comment »

  1. Doc,
    You are correct, dreams are just dreams unless you take action and even then you may have many failed attempts on the way.
    It is too easy to dream your life away! Dream your dream, hold on to it, make it your purpose and your dream will be realized!

    Like

    Comment by tobeme | December 20, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

