It's About Them

Young People … Our Greatest Resource

When Your Word Was All You Needed

In our present days of contracts and paper ligitation, it’s refreshing for me to remember a time when business could be conducted on the strength of a handshake alone. If a person later didn’t like the deal they had made, they simply said to themselves, “Well, there’s no changing it; we already shook on it.”

And that settled it.

 I also remember a term kids like me used to use: “Indian Giver.” It described a person who gave someone something, then asked to have it back. Had I only known then that I was as wrong as I could be. I was being unkind to a people who have exercised more character through the decades than anyone. This was brought to my mind when my teacher friend in Georgia, Frank Bird, put the following quote up in his daily newsletter. It doesn’t reflect specifically the honoring of agreements, but focuses more on our interconnectedness one with another. Come to think of it, interconnectedness has a lot to do with keeping promises, living in harmony, and raising our children accordingly.

What better legacy could there be?

 “… I have seen that in any great undertaking it is not enough for a man to depend simply upon himself.” Lone Man (Isna-la-wica) Teton Sioux  

March 3, 2007 - Posted by | Counselors, Educators, family, Inspirational, Parents, Self-esteem

1 Comment »

  1. Very true and wise thoughts. Love the quote, thanks for sharing.

    Like

    Comment by tobeme | March 5, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

