It's About Them

Young People … Our Greatest Resource

A Time to Trust?

FlagFlagAs we enjoy a holiday that honors freedom, how do we regard trust?

On a purely personal level most all of us have purchased a new alarm clock or set an alarm on a clock in a hotel room. Then we would ponder as we prepared to sleep if this unfamilar device was REALLY going to wake us up in time to make an important meeting or job interview.

Listen, I’ve set SEVERAL alarms just to be sure ONE of them would work!

I had a similar experience recently on a trip to New York state. I was flying into Burlington, Vermont, there to take a rental car to the New York side of Lake Champlain. The trip to my destination involved working a lot of Vermont back roads. I had a map, but the sponsor had rented a Hertz vehicle with the NeverLost GPS navigation system in it.

I had a choice: tough it out with the map or put some trust in this electronic gizmo. I figured that, since I had a little time to spare, I’d take on the adventure of NeverLost. Programming the thing was easy enough.

I pulled out of the airport. The screen on the NeverLost showed a pink line I was to follow. But I still managed to take a wrong turn. “Please proceed to the designated route,” a voice told me. Well, I managed to get lost within NeverLost; I didn’t get back to the route quickly enough to please the lady in the little green box attached to the dash.

“Reconfiguring.” (That’s a fancy way of saying, “Listen, Dummy, stay where you are and we’ll bring the pink line to YOU.”)

Actually, I got the hang of it pretty quickly. I pulled into my hotel just as the lady in the green box said, “You have arrived at your destination.”

Pretty cool. And it worked even better the next day.

But it took a measure of trust to let the device direct me, and to be reasonably comfortable it would put me close to my night’s lodging rather than to the bottom of a very big lake.

Trust, an interesting concept. Since this is a blog about lifting up young people, how do we teach our children to deal with issues of trust. To blindly trust everyone is dangerous, but to never trust anyone is to wear a blanket of discomfort and misery all the time.

I’ve heard of parents teaching their children that they shouldn’t ever trust anyone. But is that really all that wise? There will be those times when even staying alive involves trust.

Trust, it seems, is not an all or nothing entity. We have to temper it with judgement, and temper judgement with experience that is sometimes learned the hard way. Anyway, it’s something to think about.

Have a safe and blessed Fourth of July and after, and don’t forget:

“Please proceed to the designated route.”

James Sutton, Psychologist  www.docspeak.com

July 4, 2007 - Posted by | Counselors, Educators, family, Inspirational, Parents, Self-esteem

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

