It's About Them

Young People … Our Greatest Resource

“Admitted”

I’m not a world traveler, really. I’ve been to seven or eight other countries and always consider it pretty special to get BACK to the USA. One of my acquaintances, a business philosopher, inspirer and teacher once said this:

If you’re having trouble getting your business and your live to flourish, it’s NOT because you’re living in the wrong country.–Jim Rohn

To that I can only add, “Amen.” I mention this because this issue is fresh on my mind. I was in Canada last week, Kelowna, BC, to be exact. After training teachers for the day, I caught a hop back to Vancouver, BC, for a flight home.

Although I was told I would go through US Customs in Vancouver, I was not prepared for what happened when my Air Canada flight let us off the plane. The direct route to the International Terminal was closed and construction was everywhere. I got lost following a little American Flag that was supposed to direct me. It directed me alright, in a CIRCLE!

Through a fatiguing ordeal that I won’t go into here, I finally ended up in the right place, where I got the most recent stamp on my passport. Around the edge of the stamp it says, “Department of Homeland Security, US Customs and Border Protection.” But the best part of the stamp is what’s printed squarely in the center of it: “ADMITTED.” I suppose the Customs agent could see I had already been through the ringer as he handed my passport back to me and said simply, “Welcome home!”

American has its problems and faults but, all of it considered, I’m grateful for the protection, the freedoms and the opportunities she provides.

Have a relaxing and refreshing Labor Day.

 James Sutton, Psychologist    http://www.docspeak.com  

September 3, 2007 - Posted by | Educators, family, Inspirational, Parents

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

