It's About Them

Young People … Our Greatest Resource

A Flag on the Shoulder

Today I flew into Pensacola, Florida for only the second time in my life. The first time was over 40 years ago when, as a young sailor, I attended communications training there at Correy Field.

 I’m pretty sure I was the only person above 30 on the flight from Houston to Pensacola. I had a pretty good idea that just about everyone on the plane (mostly guys, but a few young ladies also), were Navy personnel. After a little discussion, I discovered I was right. They were a fine group of men and women; polite, engaging, and even a little interested in hearing about what it was like in the “old” Navy.

I’d put myself in their hands. I mean it. Some folks think it’s stylish to put down our young people today, but they’re wrong to throw everyone in one big category.

On this trip to Florida I saw a number of military folks in the desert uniform. The next time you see a young man or young woman in that uniform, check out their right shoulder. They carry the American flag there. Some of their ranks have died with that flag on their shoulder.

That’s worth remembering from time to time. Indeed, It’s About Them.

James Sutton, Psychologist    http://www.docspeak.com

January 4, 2008 - Posted by | adversity, Educators, family, Inspirational, Parents, Self-esteem, Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. This is a very important thing to remember. Your writing is a loving tribute to those who heed the call of duty.

    Like

    Comment by tobeme | January 11, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

